John Southern
(Bamburgh Castle & Northumberland G.C.)

Newton Shipley
(Ponteland G.C.)

Vice Captain
Brian Aisbitt
(Ponteland G.C.)

Hon. Sec.
Paul A. Clarke
(Hexham G.C.)

Latest News

The Spring Meeting

The Spring Meeting was held at Blyth on the 20th May
All the Results have been posted under EVENTS/SPRING on this website
Dave Grey of the home club won from Michael Anderson and the new trophy put up by the Captain and Vice Captain for the best Liaison Officers score was won by Brian Storey of Westerhope.
As ever we have to thank the club, committee and staff for their help in staging this event. The weather was lenient with sun for much of the day.


John Southern was elected Captain for 2016, Brian Aisbitt becomes our Vice Captain and Paul Clarke is the new Secretary.
Newton Shipley continues as President our Immediate Past Captain joins the committee and Alan Brown was re-elected to the committee.
Tony Cawood was given a vote of thanks as retiring Secretary.

A Message from your Captain

To be elected Captain of this Society is indeed a great honour. I look forward to my year as Captain and will try to carry out my duties as best I can, continuing the traditions of this society that have been upheld so well by the previous Past Captains. I know that my job will be made easier because of the work that your committee does in the background on your behalf as well as that of the Liaison Officers. I look forward to meeting as many of you as possible throughout the year at the two golf events, the annual friendly matches and the dinner that you support so well. Please make a note of the DATES in your diaries/phones/i-Pads etc. from the website so that you can continue to support them once again. Let us hope the weather is kind so that we can have a great golfing season in 2016. With kind regards,

John Southern.


The Society was founded in 1977 and now has a membership of more than 600 gentlemen who are Past Captains of Golf Clubs in the County of Northumberland.
The two main golf events each year are the Spring and Autumn meetings held at various golf courses throughout the County.
Annual matches are held against teams from other County Captains' Societies.
The Society's annual Dinner is a highlight of the County golf Calendar. The AGM is now held a few weeks after the Dinner

Older News


2015 - SNGC beat the Edinburgh and Lothians Captains to win the Newton Shipley Salver @ Morpeth 4 - 3

2015 - SNGC beat the Manchester Captains to win the Jack Spedding Trophy @ Newcastle United and Ponteland 11 - 3

2015 - P Brookbanks & A Lockey (Prudhoe) win the Autumn Meeting at Prudhoe

2015 - Durham win the Harry Madgwick Memorial Salver 4-2

2015 - Jim Renwick (Backworth) the winner of the Spring Meeting at Tynemouth

John Thompson (Prudhoe) is our new Captain and John Southern (Bamburgh & Northumberland) Vice Captain.


2014 - Trevor Hope (Close House) the winner of the Spring Meeting at the City of Newcastle

2014 - Messrs. Ewing and Johnson of Wooler winners of the Autumn Meeting at Newbiggin

2014 - Durham win the Harry Madgwick Memorial Salver 4-2

2014 - Manchester win the Jack Spedding Trophy 8 - 6

2014 - Lothians retain the Newton Shipley Salver, match halved 3.5 - 3.5


2013 - The Past Captains of the Society propose John Thompson of Prudhoe Golf Club as Vice Captain for 2014

2013 - Newton Shipley is proposed as President for 2014

2013 - The Annual Dinner now precedes the AGM so that the Captain of the year can speak about the year he was Captain.

2013 - Lothians win the Newton Shipley Salver 4-3

2013 - Northumberland win the Jack Spedding Trophy 8 1/2 - 5 1/2

2013 - Durham win the Harry Madgwick Memorial Salver 4-2

2013 - Barry Hindmarsh and Guy Dinning winners of the Autumn Meeting at Northumberland

2013 - Bill Walker wins the Spring Meeting at Seahouses